An historic newspaper from 2001.  Eritrea Setit published an open letter G 13 letter English to President Isaias from political the country’s political leaders, including ministers.

Eritrea paper

They called for democracy and for the EPLF to keep its promises of a free society given to the Eritrean people.

Three months later those who were inside Eritrea were arrested and the free press was banned.

Those who were arrested remain in jail, never having received a trail. All media remain state controlled.

These were the signatories:

1. Araya Debessay 

2. Assefaw Tekeste 

3. Bereket Habte Selassie 

4. Dawit Mesfin 

5. Haile Debas 

6. Kassahun Checole 

7. Kaled A. Beshir 

8. Lula Ghebreyesus 

9. Miriam M. Omar 

10. Mohamed Kheir Omar 

11. Mussie Misghina 

12. Paulos Tesfagiorgis 

13. Reesom Haile 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here